Mumbai Indians win record fourth IPL title

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by one run in a nail-biting Indian Premier League final on Sunday to claim a record fourth title.

After Shane Watson had hit a fierce 80, Chennai needed two runs off the final ball to overtake Mumbai’s 149-8 but Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga bowled Shardul Thakur lbw to claim the landmark win.

West Indies batsman Kieron Pollard smashed an unbeaten 41 off 25 balls to set up the Mumbai total in Hyderabad. Watson batted through the Chennai innings until he was run out in the final over, smashing four sixes and eight fours.


Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar, an advisor to the Mumbai team, nervously watched the finale, frequently burying his head in his hands.

Mumbai won the IPL in 2013 and 2015 – both against Chennai – and again in 2017 when they beat Rising Pune Supergiant by one run.


This article has been posted by a News Hour Correspondent. For queries, please contact through [email protected]
No Comments

Translate this News

Join the Facebook Group

Click here to join the Facebook group of News Hour

Popular Posts

Singer offers “Free AC Cleaning Service" in Bangladesh
Grameenphone brings in the iPhone 11 series in Bangladesh
TOTAL QUARTZ 3500 SUPER engine oil launched in Bangladesh
Pre booking of Vivo S1 started in Bangladesh
Amaron Automotive batteries introduce motorcycle battery in Bangladesh
Praava Health hosts Bangladesh's first molecular cancer diagnostics lab


News of the Month

May 2019
« Apr   Jun »
Scroll Up
%d bloggers like this: